Beach Birthday

Hi everyone!!

I was lucky enough to spend my birthday in one of my family’s favorite places, Marco Island, FL. Our annual summer family vaca is something we all look forward to and luckily this year my birthday was able to be slipped into the mix. We spent all day at the beach and later headed off to one of our favorite restaurants in the area, Tommy Bahama’s.

IMG_1592

For my birthday outfit I wore my favorite new summer pants. For being only 5’3″ I love how tall these pants make me look paired with my chunky wedges. If you need a simple hack to look taller, vertical stripes are your best friend. Not too many though or you might look like Beetlejuice (yikes). I love how over the years stripes have been transformed from preppy to laid back and effortless, which is how I like to wear them. What I most enjoy about these pants are the different widths that the stripes are and the fact that they tie in the front for an extra detail. I paired these pants with my black off the shoulder Brandy Melville top. One of my new favs that I just picked up from Nordstrom. My pants were a little high waisted and they went perfectly with my cropped black top. I cannot stress enough how important it is to wear high waisted bottoms with cropped tops. Wearing low-rise or even mid-rise bottoms with a crop top ruins the look and looks immature and unprofessional. It’s ok to show a little mid-drift, but no one needs to see your whole stomach. A little bit of skin will do the job and keep you looking summer-y!IMG_1594

As I have said in the past, I love layering simple and delicate necklaces to simple outfits to jazz them up a bit. When layering simple necklaces it is your preference as to whether you want to mix metals or not, in my case, I usually do.  My first choker is a “rosary” choker that I bought from the Atlanta Apparel Mart but there are many similar ones on Etsy. My middle necklace is my Mother Mary pendant I have had forever, but I have seen them layered on Pinterest with many other gold necklaces and I loved the look. Lastly is my Alex & Ani Charm Necklace. I saw this necklace in one of their Instagram posts and knew I had to have it. It is such an easy piece to layer since it is adjustable. The main pendant on my necklace is the black onyx and I added four of my favorite charms to really personalize it and make it my own. I also added my stack of Alex & Ani bracelets on my wrist to keep the mixed metals going and to accessorize a little more. I love how you can wear these both casual and formal, and how they personalize your outfits even more. I love when people ask me about mine/where I got them all. They are a total conversation starter!

IMG_1595

As for makeup, I kept my look simple with some glowy and bronzed skin, gold and bronzed eyeshadow, and a pop of color on my lips (refer to my last post for how to create this look!). I lightly curled my hair with my NUME large curling wand (32 mm) for effortless voluminous hair. The key to the perfect curls is a large, untapered wand. Tapered wands can sometimes make hair look too tight and Shirley Temple – esque.

IMG_1597

Thank you to everyone who wished me a happy birthday! 18 was great and I can’t wait to see what 19 brings me!

IMG_1653IMG_1629IMG_1626

IMG_7394.JPG

XOXO,

Kristina

SaveSaveSaveSave

Leave a Reply

