Hey Hey Hey! It’s Opening Day!

When the snow starts to melt and flowers begin to bloom, baseball fans are thinking of only one day, opening day. For avid baseball fans such as my family, we are counting down the days till the first pitch is thrown at Wrigley Field and the 2016 World Series Champions take the field. Naturally, my family will be bundled up in the seats cheering on our Cubbies on opening day. Baseball is something that has brought my family together for my whole life. Even our dog was named Wrigley after Wrigley Field. Whether the Cubs were on an awful losing streak, or if they were throwing the ball to first base to win their first World Series in over 100 years, we all have a mutual love for our north side Chicago team. Growing up, going into the city to watch the Cubs was one of my favorite things. Luckily, my dad was born in July, so almost every birthday of his we go to a game. Win or lose, Cubs fans have stuck with their team and lucky for us, this year they finally showed everybody what they are made of.

This past season was surely one to remember. Every game I watched I knew that the team I was watching was something special. When the Cubs finally clinched the World Series Champions title, I knew I had to go home to celebrate. The parade was something I will always remember and something I probably will not do again. Though it was fun celebrating my hometown team’s win, the crowd was just a little too much to bear.

IMG_2758IMG_2806IMG_2795

One of my favorite things about having parents who have been Cubs fans their whole lives is the vintage merchandise that comes with it. After going through boxes of Cubs memorabilia with my dad, I can justify and say that we have A LOT of stuff. This vintage Cubs bomber jacket of my moms is something that automatically drew my eye. I tried it on right away and she knew I was not letting go of it. Not only are bomber jackets the hot trend right now, but this holds a special place in my heart since it is my favorite team. I have always been used to being spoiled with Cubs apparel from my dad. Anything he saw that was either on sale or too cool to pass up he would buy for me. From jerseys and hats to socks and scrunchies (lol) I was constantly decked out.

IMG_2729

The outfit I am wearing is simple, yet perfect for a baseball game. As my dad always says “it’s not a fashion show” and he is right. There is a time and place for everything and rocking a baseball T-shirt and some sneakers is perfectly acceptable sometimes. I’m wearing my favorite pair of ripped skinny jeans from American Eagle. If the weather was colder you could go with some plain skinny jeans but just to add an extra detail I went with the ripped ones. My white slip-on Vans are all I seem to wear sometimes. Not having to tie my shoes is extremely lazy but also practical for anyone on the go. My super cool and retro jacket is pretty oversized and bulky on me which is why it is important to wear more form-fitting pants. My mom was gracious enough to let me borrow the jacket for a couple pics (little does she know that I’m taking it). Bomber jackets are all the rage and having a retro one means the world to me. My vintage look is pulled together with my Ray-Ban Clubmasters, my all time favorite sunglasses. They are simple yet add a perfect old-school look to the outfit.

IMG_0784IMG_0741IMG_0768

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Though I would love to relive each moment of the past season, I can not wait till the first pitch is thrown on opening day. Last season was one to remember and I am hoping this season will be too.

IMG_4086

GO CUBS!

-Kristina

 

Leave a Reply

