Bon Voyage!:Packing Tips & Tricks

Hi everyone! This week I will be taking a trip to Atlanta, Georgia with a group of students in my major, fashion merchandising. There are a lot of fun activities planned such as visiting the aquarium and the Atlanta Mart (super pumped for). As I sit here packing like a pro due to many years of traveling, I thought I would share a few packing tips to make the pre-vacation period a little less stressful!IMG_0867

Being the daughter of a constant traveller (my dad) I have learned to pack like a pro. Every vacation I have been on I have packed a weeks worth of clothes in one carry-on roller bag. You heard that right, a carry-on bag, not checked. By learning how to properly pack, you can save the money you would have spent on you checked bags. Here are some tips that have helped me:

  1. ROLL YOUR CLOTHES. I learned this trick in middle school and have used it ever since. I honestly have no idea how this works, but each time I do it, I can always fit more clothes in my bag than if I would have just folded them. This also helps my clothes to not become wrinkly which is a total plus. On most trips I have a jam-packed schedule and I don’t want to be waking up any earlier to iron my clothes.
  2. Bring items that can be worn in multiple outfitsI am the absolute worst when it comes to not wanting to re-wear clothes; but, this packing tip has saved me so space in my suitcase. Bringing simple items such as a jean jacket or a pair of black pants that can be styled many different ways is key. People won’t even know that you wore the same pants the day before to a museum with a t-shirt and sneakers when you show up to dinner wearing them with a blouse and statement necklace. Something else to look into is whether the hotel you are staying at has a washer and dryer available to guests. Take advantage of this! You will not need to bring as many   necessities if you are able to wash and re-wear them.
  3. Toiletry OrganizationLast summer I received two “Packin’ Heat” Scout cosmetic bags as gifts and I have fallen in love with them. They come in so many different colors and patterns and you can even have them monogrammed. Also, they are so easy to clean if something spills and they hold SO MUCH. Seriously, I fit all of my toiletries in one and makeup in the other and I am good to go. Anyone who knows me knows that I try to pack last-minute little things that I 100% know I won’t use and these bags fit it all. The best part is that when I throw these bags into my suitcase they seem to barely take up an extra space (bonus points!!). I highly recommend checking them out and ordering a bag of your own! If you go on Scout’s website and sign up for emails from them you get 15% off so get to buying:)IMG_0881.jpg

What I Bring in My Personal Bag:

On long trips it’s hard to keep yourself occupied. You can only listen to music and stare out a window for so long. Here are a few tips for keeping yourself busy:

  1. Rent movies on iTunes in the SD version not HD. It is a dollar less and honestly the quality of the video only changes slightly. Flights are the perfect opportunity to sit down and watch a movie you have always wanted to see. Some of my first times watching classic movies have been on a plane simply because I had the time to.
  2. If you travel often, invest in a nice pair of headphones. There is nothing worse than sitting next to a crying baby on a plane and having to blast your music in order to drown out the sound. By investing in a pair of nice and comfortable headphones, you can listen to music at your preferred volume and your ears won’t become sore.  I have the Beats Solo3 Wireless Headphones in gold and they have impressed me thus far. What is great about them is that they can be wireless or wired, so your phone battery does not die as quickly. They also have 40 hours of battery life which is great for people on the go who do not have time to be plugging in one more piece of technology.
  3. Buy a few “adult” coloring books. I received the Secret Garden coloring book a few years ago for Christmas and it has been awesome for traveling. Coloring the whole picture is very time-consuming (perfect for a long trip) and also very relaxing. The pictures always turn out beautiful and they are fun to hang up once you have finished. I have always enjoyed coloring, but as I get older I no longer want to color Disney princesses and this book gives me a perfect way to relive my childhood.
  4. Buy a neck pillow. There really is nothing worse than sleeping on a plane so do yourself a favor and buy a neck pillow. My sister and I always used to joke about how dumb they looked on people until we tried them ourselves. You may look like an idiot, but you will be a comfortable idiot.
  5. Bring some snacks! Planes rarely ever offer snacks and when they do you are lucky enough to be handed a pack of peanuts. Bringing granola bars, bananas, and some candy has always saved me on flights. Being hungry with nothing around to eat is awful so always make sure you have something on hand, even if it is a stick of gum. IMG_0898.jpg

I hope all of these tips were helpful and make traveling a breeze for you! Please comment down below your best packing tips!

XOXO,

Kristina

One thought on “Bon Voyage!:Packing Tips & Tricks

Leave a Reply

