Leather & Knee High Boots

As the weather begins to change in KY, I find myself trying to hold on to my winter clothes with a tight grasp. Where did the time go?? Luckily, when I travel home to Chicago for spring break I will be greeted with 30 degree weather and will be able to sport my favorite winter essentials. As for what I am wearing, this outfit gives a “girl boss” kind of vibe. Looking put together is easier than it seems and lets others know that you mean business.

My flowy, turtleneck and faux leather skirt are both from one of my favorite stores, Zara. Zara reminds me of a more mature and nicer Forever 21. I typically find amazing pieces there that please my debit card. I am absolutely in love with their plain t-shirts as they are super comfy and soft, while still fairly priced. The mustard colored turtle neck feels like I am wearing pajamas yet looks very mature and elegant. I tucked in the front of my shirt to define my waist and left the back out to give a more casual look and to keep the flowy shape of the shirt.

To keep my look neutral, I paired my outfit with some mixed metal jewelry. If you know anything about me, you know that I can be heard from a mile away because of the stack of Alex & Ani bracelets that consumes my arm. These bracelets let me express who I am and I can never go anywhere without someone grabbing my arm and looking at them in awe. The mixed metals give an eclectic look that fit my style. My statement chain necklace is something I picked up from the Charming Charlie’s clearance section years ago and have kept in my jewelry box. It matches almost any outfit and gives a more rocker, grunge look to whatever I am wearing. My glasses are such a slight prescription that I honestly just wear them sometimes for my outfit (oops). They are tortoise shell Ralph Lauren glasses that I added to give a more mature look to my outfit. You can not deny that wearing glasses makes you look more put together so use them to your benefit. If you want to cheat, order some cheap ones from Amazon or Forever 21 .

As for makeup, I kept my eye makeup simple by using my Morphe 350 – 30 Color Nature Glow Eyeshadow palette. This palette has transformed my makeup game. It is only available  on morphebrushes.com and retails for $22.99. A STEAL for a 35 color eyeshadow palette. Not including shipping, that is almost $1.50 for each high quality shadow included in this palette. If that price doesn’t convince you to give it a try I am not sure what will. For lips, I used my Colourpop Ultra Matte Lip in Teeny Tiny. Fun lipsticks are an essential when trying to convince people that you have your life together. I love the Colourpop matte liquid lipsticks because you apply once and barely have to touch up throughout the day. they are perfect for a girl on the go who does not have much time to worry about the up keep of her makes throughout the day. Not only are these great lipsticks, but the price puts a smile to my face. They are only $6!! Compared to other popular liquid lipsticks such as Anastasia Beverly Hills or Kat Von D, these are less than half the cost of those sold at Sephora. They are only available on Colourpop’s website, but they do offer free shipping over $30 so stock up!

Lastly, my velvet over the knee boots. I received these boots for Christmas and have fallen in love with them ever since. They definitely are an eye catcher and give the extra va va voom to an outfit. They can be easily paired with a skirt, simple dress, or jeans to help transform an outfit. When I throw these on, I instantly have more confidence in my look and feel damn good about myself. Investing in trendy statement pieces can often be difficult for many so I highly recommend looking at stores such as Forever 21 or Charlotte Russe if you are looking for a pair of shoes to get you through a few weeks of a popular trend.

 

 

Leave a Reply

